Scotties Fan Visitors

Sunday, 20 January 2013

The Past

In 1981 Scott Paper Limited made a commitment to the Canadian Curling Association (CCA), to sponsor the Canadian Women’s Curling Championships. The Scotties Tournament of Hearts started in 1982 (then known as the Scott Tournament of Hearts).  This year is the 30th consecutive year of the Scotties (a brand of Kruger Products).  Kruger is the longest national corporate sponsor of amateur sports in Canada.  It is the leading manufacturer of Consumer and Away From Home paper products in Canada.

The widely recognized Scotties Tournament of Hearts logo is a cluster of 4 hearts.  Those hearts represent the 4 curlers that make up a team and recognizes the importance of teamwork.  The hearts also recognize the “Spirit of Curling” and the friendship that characterizes the sport. 


Colleen Jones (Nova Scotia), Jennifer Jones (Manitoba) and Kelly Scott (BC) combined have won the last 8 out of 10 Scotties. I think Jennifer Jones and Kelly Scott have the most dominant teams and they will probably be in the running to win the Scotties this year.  Amber Holland who won 2 years ago and Heather Nedohin, who won last year, are also big contenders.


Last year, Heather Nedohin’s team from Alberta won the Scotties Tournament of Hearts.  Coming out of the round robin, they had a record of 7-4, good enough for the last playoff spot in fourth position.  She had only lost to Kerry Galusha (Northwest Territories/Yukon Territory), Amber Holland (Canada), Rebecca Atkinson (New Brunswick) and Marie-France Larouche (Quebec).  In the 3-4 Page Playoff, she beat Marie-France Larouche from Quebec.  In the Semi Finals, she beat Jennifer Jones representing Manitoba.  In the finals, she beat Kelly Scott out of British Columbia in a dramatic extra end.

For a complete list of previous winners, check out this link!

No comments:

Post a Comment